California was one of the first states to legalize medical marijuana in 1996. It all started with Proposition 215 (Compassionate Use Act) when the state collectively decided to use medical marijuana for a wide range of medical conditions. As of today, a majority uses a 420 med card to get high-quality cannabis products from state-licensed dispensaries. To be one of the states to legalize marijuana for medicinal use, many patients rely on it to treat chronic pain. However, there are certain regulations and requirements. To find out if you can use medical marijuana to treat state-qualifying medical conditions, go through our guide.
Why Should I Get A 420 Medical Card In Santa Clara, CA
If you need a medical marijuana card in Santa Clara to treat your medical condition, you can easily get one. But, first, you have to keep certain rules in mind. For instance, you have to be at least 18 years or older to get a medical cannabis card In Santa Clara. For recreational use, a person must be at least 21 years of age. California has strict laws regarding cannabis access to minors. Anyone selling or giving cannabis to minors will be punished under state law. However, a minor with a severely debilitating medical condition such as epilepsy can get access to a 420 Med Card through the assistance of a caregiver. The caregiver can be anyone, a parent, or a guardian aged 21 years or above.
The most interesting part is that cannabis is completely legal in California. This means that you can get both medical and recreational cannabis simply using a state ID card. In fact, there are certain hemp-derived CBD products that people can easily get over the counter. All thanks to the Farm Bill that became law in 2018. The only exception is that people still wonder whether they need to get a medical marijuana card to purchase cannabis? Well, the answer to this exceptional question depends on an important factor. Which is, cannabis is cheaper when you have a medical cannabis recommendation or card.
You see, a medical marijuana cardholder has access to certain advantages. For instance, they are exempt from paying state sales tax. Medical marijuana patients have the right to access and consume a higher limit of cannabis. Best of all, cannabis cardholders have access to high-quality products. And they can grow a certain legal limit without worrying about a possible arrest.
How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card in Santa Clara?
Now that you know what are the benefits of getting a medical marijuana card. Let us look at the complete rundown of getting a medical cannabis card in Santa Clara, CA.
The Old School Method
Technology has advanced to an extent that you can easily avail of any kind of service from the comfort of your home. But, if you are old-fashioned. Here’s how you can get a medical marijuana recommendation or card. First and foremost, you have to find a state-licensed health physician. Once you find one, you can get an appointment with the doctor who will examine your symptoms and study your medical records. However, you will qualify only if you have a state-qualifying medical condition for medical cannabis use.
When you visit a state health physician make sure you carry your medical records (if you have any), a state-issued ID card, or a driver’s license with you. Next, you have to fill a form and submit the afore-mentioned documents. Also, remember that only residents with proof can apply for the medical marijuana card. So, you have to show residency proof through rental agreement, DMV, or utility bill. Once you have provided everything, your doctor will have a face-to-face consultation with you. He or she will ask you several questions regarding your health and if they deem you fit for medical cannabis use, you will receive the recommendation soon after. Next, you have to apply for a medical marijuana program in Santa Clara and you will receive your MMIC in 20-30 business days.
The Convenient And Modern Method
As you can see that the traditional method is quite arduous and long. You no longer need to get your card through a stone-age method. All thanks to technology. Now you can get an MMJ recommendation under 20 minutes. All you have to do is register with a trustworthy and experienced medical marijuana service provider. This includes filling a medical form, submitting vital soft copies of vital documents such as ID proof and medical records. Soon after the submission of the application, you will conduct an online evaluation via video call. If the doctor thinks you are eligible, you will get a medical marijuana recommendation instantly and the hard copy of the car will be delivered at your doorstep within 3-4 business days.
You can use the recommendation the same day to purchase high-quality cannabis products from state-licensed dispensaries. Also, when you receive the soft copy of the recommendation on your email, take note of the 7-character ID code registered to your state or county medical cannabis program. The bottom line is that all these services are easily available. You can get your card or rec through clinics that provide platforms like telemedicine to their patients.
What Are The Qualifying Medical Conditions To Get A Medical Marijuana Card in Santa Clara?
According to the state medical cannabis laws, you are allowed to get a medical marijuana card in Santa Clara as long as you have the following medical conditions:
- Chronic pain
- Multiple sclerosis
- Side effects associated with radiation therapy
Other medical conditions that make you eligible for an MMJ card include disabilities restricting you from performing normal life activities as defined under the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. You may also qualify for a recommendation if you have chronic pain associated with mental illnesses such as fatigue, depression, or PTSD. So, when it comes to getting a medical marijuana card in Santa Clara, make sure you look at the list of state qualifying medical conditions. If you qualify, you shouldn’t have difficulty purchasing medical cannabis in California.
What Is The Possession And Growing Limit?
If you are a state resident with a state-qualifying medical condition, you can easily get a medical marijuana card. It allows you to get access to eight ounces of dried cannabis. Although make sure you check with the cannabis laws in your county. MMJ cardholders can also grow or cultivate up to 12 immature plants, out of which 6 can be mature.
The Rules For Caregivers
You can get a medical marijuana recommendation or cannabis on behalf of a caregiver. However, the caregiver has to take note of certain rules. First, the caregiver has to be 18 or older. The only exception: The case of minor parents registered under a medical marijuana program. Also, if the caregiver has more than one patient, he or she must reside in the same county as you. They can carry and provide up to 8 ounces of medical marijuana to their patients. More vitally, they should apply for a 420 med card in advance and provide state-issued ID proof.